Poetry 2015 Review: 20 Love Poems & a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda

I’m reading a book of poetry every month this year! This month’s book was Pablo Neruda’s Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair. Next month, join me in reading Black Aperture by Matt Rasmussen. Click here for a list of all the books in my Poetry 2015 Campaign.

poetry2015.3This book was delicious and sexy.

“But my words become stained with your love / You occupy everything, you occupy everything.”

“becalmed in the throat of the fortunate isles / that are white and sweet as cool hips.”

“You are like my soul, a butterfly of dream, / and you are like the word Melancholy.”

Are you convinced? I am.

Be sure to track down Black Aperture for April!

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Storm Cell

storm cell Truest

Learn more at www.jackieleasommers.com/truest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Questions from Blog Readers

questions from blog readersWhy do your enjoy having your “heart pulverized” by books?
I don’t know. It seems masochistic, doesn’t it? I love the power of the written word, love the truths that fiction can expose us to without truly exposing us (Does that make sense to you? That makes sense to me.). I love the way that stories are dynamic, incredible things and the way that art– in any form– can make us feel alive.

What do you do when you aren’t writing?
I enjoy people and encourage them. I tell stories and jokes. I avoid cleaning. I waste time on social media. I make plans. I explore the Twin Cities. I recruit students to my university. I work on my blog. I read. I daydream about my characters.

How does faith intersect with your writing life, and what are your thoughts on “Christian” vs “non Christian” books when it comes to marketing in the pub industry?
If I think about a venn diagram where “my writing life” is one circle and “my faith” is another circle, it would look like two circles aligned directly on top of one another. Everything in my writing life (and all other areas of my life) is influenced by my Christian faith. My daily life (and the writing of my books) is done via continual conversation with my God.

Christian vs. non-Christian markets: I’m not entirely sure what I think. I knew that I wanted my book to not be labelled a “Christian” book because I felt like that would severely limit the audience that would pick it up. Also, when you see a book that is labelled “Christian,” you expect certain things from it, don’t you? And Truest is decidedly not a family-friendly, rainbows-and-kittens book. That said, it’s flabbergasting to me that “Christianity” could possibly mean “family friendly, rainbows-and-kittens.” The gospel itself is a story of mindblowing love, deep betrayal, and bloody, gruesome death– and also breathtaking victory. How in the world did “Christianity” come to mean anything else, anything so watered-down?

What is your favorite food?
Chocolate. Cheese. Chipotle. Really, anything that starts with ch. ;-)

What is your favorite movie?
NewsiesThe Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Harry Potter III, VII, and VIII.

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Jesus, real life, writing, YA

My Top 5 Most Anticipated Books of 2015

Originally posted on Kaleigh Walter Revisions :

(And yes, I realize it’s practically April. Better late than never, right?)

Let’s jump in.

  1. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: June 9

Picking up where its predecessor left off, The Invasion of the Tearling follows the story of new Queen Kelsea Raleigh Glynn and her attempts to rule, lead, and protect her fellow Tear-folk from the evil Red Queen (although, by the sound of that title, it seems Queen Kelsea isn’t all that successful, but that’s a classic book 2 in a trilogy for you). Fans of The Queen’s Thief Series, The Lumatere Chronicles, and The Chronicles of Prydain will naturally fall in love with the people of the Tearling. Bonus points: A film adaptation of book 1, The Queen of the Tearling has been announced with Emma Watson playing the lead.

  1. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: July 14

Unless you’ve unplugged from…

View original 454 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Recent Reads

all the bright places2All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
This book. You guys. This book. In it, we meet Violet Markey as well as Theodore Finch, who stole my heart and broke it. The characters in this book were phenomenal and layered, and I value that so much. Great characters are my #1 thing, even more than beautiful writing. If you give me great characters, I’ll be a slave to your writing prowess. I was so, so captured by these characters and their beautiful and heartbreaking story. Let’s just say that both Violet and Finch are hurting souls, and the opening scene is them meeting on the ledge of the school bell tower, both on the verge of jumping. Go. Read. This. Book. I need to be able to talk about it with someone.

i'll meet you thereI’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
This book was pretty un-put-downable. I tore through it. The reviews have been nothing but raving, and I’m pleased to say that I loved it as well. It’s a story about Skylar “Sky” Evans, who wants nothing more than to escape her hometown, and about Josh Mitchell, a Marine who returns home without his leg. There are a couple of Ultimate No-No’s that characters can do in books that are sort of “unforgivable” for me … and this one had one. But I still really loved it. A lot. And highly recommend that you read it.

peter panPeter Pan by J.M. Barrie
What a treat this book is! I’ve long known the story of Peter Pan, Wendy Darling, Captain Hook, the lost boys, and all the rest … but knowing the story didn’t prepare me for the gem of this book. It was delightful. The voice is incredible and fascinating and clever. It reminded me a little of Alice in Wonderland in the way it made me think– but it was even more enjoyable! I tore through this novel breathlessly … even though I already knew what would happen. Find a copy of this sweet story for your own.

forgive me leonard peacockForgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
This book is essentially a day in the life of high school student Leonard Peacock– in particular, the day he has planned to kill one of his classmates and then himself. It is dark, heavy stuff– but there are lots of moments of good, lighter times too. I don’t want to say a lot about this one except that I’m really glad I read it (I listened to the audio version), and you should read it too.

All the LightAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
I’m still sorting out my thoughts on this book, which has been called “the most important book of 2014″– in another place on the internet, I’ve heard it called “the most important book of the decade.” It’s a World War II story, alternating perspectives of a young, brilliant French girl and a young, brilliant German boy. I felt quite at home with this book for adults, since the characters were young people, just like in the YA stories I typically read. This book was more literary, slower, very beautiful, but very sad. I … liked it. I did not love the way it ended. In fact, I nearly chose to stop reading with only about thirty pages left. But I’m glad I did. This book is lovely, important, beautiful, well-written, and I’m glad I read it. I don’t want to say much more. It was its own experience reading this story. I am ready for more YA now. :-)

7 Comments

Filed under book review, reading, YA

Where I’d Like to Travel

I’m a bit of a homebody, but if I had a travel partner, here’s where I’d like to go.

1. Australia
I want to meet Melina Marchetta and drive around to all the places that look like Jellicoe.

jellicoe2

[via MM’s blog]

2. England
Stop in at the “Bird and Baby” to imagine I’m part of the Inklings.

bird and baby

[via]

3. Italy
Wherever they filmed the Naboo scenes from Star Wars.

star wars

[via]

4. Alaska
Anywhere. Everywhere. Especially during the polar night– all that purple! I’d like to explore Fairbanks, where my characters in Truest lived.

polar night

 [via]

5. Finland
Specifically, Arctic Resort Kakslauttanen. Glass igloo + Northern Lights? Heck yes.

finland

2 Comments

Filed under real life

When Writing = Death

Look, I’m not the first one to comment on this. Not even close.

You have an idea– a bright, beautiful, perfect idea– and then you start to write it down, and it dies on the page. It becomes imperfect. It gets messy.

Ann Patchett said her ideas are like beautiful butterflies that soar around in her mind, and then when she starts to write, she takes them and pins them to a board. Death.

Chuck Wendig blogged about it recently, saying, “Writing and storytelling is this… nasty task of taking the perfect idea that exists in your head and shellacking it all up by dragging it through some grease-slick fontanelle in order to make it real. You’re just shitting it all to hell, this idea. You have it in your mind: golden and unbreakable. And then in reality, ugh. You’ve created a herky-jerky simulacrum, a crude facsimile of your beautiful idea run through the copy machine again and again until what you started with is an incomprehensible spread of dong-doogle hieroglyphics.”

Sometimes it’s like I can see this perfect book; it’s shining like an angel at some perfect finish line. And when I sit down at my computer, I’m trying to run toward that finish line, but instead my running is sideways, disoriented, like the way my siblings and I used to spin until we were dizzy and then race each other. The whole time I could see the silo on the other side of the lawn– whoever reached it first would win– I could see it and was trying to run toward it, but my legs kept yanking me to the side like I was some drunken pre-teen.

It’s no wonder I sometimes avoid my manuscript.

Chuck’s blog post went on to say, essentially, write anyway: “Those who try to master perfection will always fall to those who iterate, and reiterate, and create, and recreate. Art is better than philosophy. Creation, however clumsy, is always better than sitting on your hands and fearing what damage they can do.”

Writing takes courage. Writing means walking in the shadow of death while still trusting in life. It means daring to wade into the mess in order to find that spark of life, of beauty, instead of being content to just daydream of perfection.

My prayer these days is “Help, God. In every way, help.”

1 Comment

Filed under thoughts on writing